Vancouver Water Damage Restoration Company Malkin Cleaners Explain the Categories of Liquid Involved in Water Damage Events

To help prevent injury and ensure that their work is completed to the highest possible standards, Vancouver water damage restoration company teams must learn the various categories of liquids pertaining to water damage events. Having these unique categories allows teams to classify home water intrusion events quickly and helps to ensure homeowners achieve a safe home for future years. And in this article the team at Vancouver water damage restoration company Malkin Cleaners explains the categories and classes involved in liquid analysis according to the latest IICRC (Institute of Inspection and Restoration Certification) regulations.

The Three Categories of Liquid

Liquids involved in water damage events are classified according three separate numbers: category 1, category 2 and category 3.

Category 1

Category 1 liquids are those that come from a clean and sanitary source such as faucets and are known to have no risk of contamination within the home environment.

Category 2

Category 2 liquids may have several contaminants that may cause illness or discomfort if ingested. Sources of category 2 liquids may be dishwashers or washing machine overflows. This category also includes toilet overflows.

Category 3

Category 3 liquids can cause serious illness if ingested. Liquids in this category used to be called black water and can include water from flooded rivers and streams as well as stagnant liquid within the home that has begun to support bacterial growth. Category 3 liquids are the most serious of liquid dangers in the home and must be carefully removed to prevent significant health issues for those living in the property.

Destruction Classifications

In managing home water intrusion events, restoration companies must also classify the level of destruction within the property. The latest regulations from the IICRC (Institute of Inspection and Restoration Certification) highlight the following as the classes of water damage destruction.

Class 1:

Class 1 events require little recovery expertise and may mean there is little permanence to the water damage.

Class 2:

Class 2 events require significant drying work because there is significant moisture remaining in the structure of the property.

Class 3:

Class 3 levels of structural damage relate to complete saturation of ceilings, walls and insulation. Liquid from these events often come from above the area and require days of drying for optimal recovery.

Class 4:

Class 4 levels events are labeled as specialty drying scenarios. These events relate to situations in which even low permanence materials such as brick and hardwood have become saturated in water.

By understanding the latest guidance given to IICRC-trained water damage restoration technicians, Vancouverhomeowners can work with their restoration company in completing the drying work successfully. To learn more on the latest industry guidance, contact the team at Malkin Cleaners directly via (604) 970-9052 or visit their business website at